artists
56
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-56,bridge-core-2.1.2,translatepress-en_GB,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-19.9,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

Discover examples

 

Artists explore the area of tension between "simplified" forms of life and other sustainable living models and discuss the issue of the social responsibility of art and architecture.

You can download our curatorial statement here.

Ekkehard
Altenburger

Mirror house (1996)

 

The work “Mirror house" was exhibited in 1996 on the Scottish island of Tyree. The construction of steel and mirrors captures the breathtaking landscape of the island. Upon close study of this work, the boundary between the environment and the architectural sculpture becomes blurred. Altenburger's intrusion in the wild and untamed nature, reveals the actual contrast between this and the surrounding environment. In his work, a balance between these two poles emerges.

In art history, the mirror is highly loaded with symbolism: in many ways it epitomizes reflection but may also represent transience or narcissistic self-exaltation, to name just a few - and due to the the location of the ‘Mirror House’ on the smooth surface of the water, the "firstmirror" has also been taken into consideration.

* Mirror house, Temporary installation on the Isle of Tyree (Scotland), 1996 © Ekkehard Altenburger

Taturo
Amabouz

A Doll’s House (2018)

 

"A Doll's House" is not only a play in three acts by Henrik Ibsen, but also a huge doll's house by Amabouz Taturo (the pseudonym used by Japanese artist Tatzu Nishi). In 2018, it could be viewed for the first time on the external facade of the Palais de Tokyo in Paris. The life-size rooms extend over three floors, are furnished and have a "trompe-l'oeil" wallpaper. One can imagine oneself as Alice in Wonderland and explore the oversized doll’s house and be amazed by the size, the variance and the attention to detail on each floor.

Nishi works mostly in public space and, with his often monumental, oversized objects, challenges the viewer to question existing structures and to take a different look at monuments and architectural structures - following the principle of: “Making the known strange again.”

* Une maison de poupée (A Doll’s House), Paris, 2018 © Taturo Amabouz, Foto: Aurélien Mole

Winfried
Baumann

Rough Sleepers Tower (2016)

 

With the living system of “Urban Normads", which also includes the work “Rough Sleepers Tower", Winfried Baumann created a concept of mobile mini-homes. Artistic confrontations related to the themes of: mobility; housing; food; and locomotion are also incorporated within the scope of this term. 

"Rough Sleeper" is a direct reference to the homeless, a term which refers to people who sleep in the open without shelter. Baumann has been focusing on homelessness since 2000, and with this modular principle, several people can be offered private and sheltered space - on a very small footprint. Despite its functional nature, the sculptural character of his work remains prime consideration.

* Rough Sleepers Tower, Röttingen, 2016 © Winfried Baumann

Michael
Beutler

Pecafil City (2013)

 

Michael Beutler’s work, “Pecafil City" ’, is named after the bright yellow, biodegradable building material, Pecafil. On average, it takes Beutler two weeks to set up his work with the help of students, artists, craftsmen or local residents. The architectural sculptures are usually understood after concentrated observation: the supposed confusion or chaos and the arrangement of the modules and objects reveal their spatial structure in relation to each other. The objects communicate with each other as if in a walk-in ‘still-life’.

The illustrated work shows an entire "city" comprising architectural bodies. On the one hand, it can sharpen the perception for relationships between architectural modules - for example in the urban environment. On the other hand, the transient material is noticeable when walking through his works. His sculptures are not designed to stay in one place forever.

* Pecafil City, Firmengelände FRANK (Leibfing), 2013 © Michael Beutler, courtesy Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt

Florian
Graf

Bio Diversity (Blooming, Flying, Standing) (2018)

 

The Swiss artist, Florian Graf, is interested in space and how our psyche and our body, can interact with it. The series “Biodiversity” comprises sculptures which, in turn, are composed of three different elements: an introverted ; an aggressive; and an extroverted part - as the artist himself calls them. By assembling these three parts in different ways, a unique relationship to the viewer is created. An attached mirror or a window alludes to an assumed interior of the works. According to Graf, "works of art are […]  quasi-alive, creatures to which we ascribe a life of their own. And the world of nature, with its infinite, combinatorial possibilities, creates a breathtaking diversity out of the same building blocks."

*  Bio Diversity (Blooming, Flying, Standing), Ausstellungsansicht Out & About, 2018 © Florian Graf, Foto: Gina Folly

Terence
Koh

Bee Chapel (2017)

 

Terence Koh's "Bee Chapel" is a place in which a person may sojourn with a swarm of bees. Separated by a net, the bees can be watched in action at close range. Being in the chapel, the humming of the bees and the smell of honey should be the only things one perceives. The decelaration will be counterpart to the outside world. One purpose of the chapel is also to address the dying of the bees. As the artist says: "I think that concerns all of us, but the Bee Chapel is also a place to unwind and relax.” 

Since the implementation of this project in 2015, the internationally well-respected artist digresses from his former artistic theme – the Colour White – and concentrates intensely on alternative concepts for life: gardens; and bees.

* The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh

Charlotte
Posenenske

Holzdrehflügel Serie E (1968)

 

The oevre of Posenenske can be contextualised within a conceptual network comprising: industrial production; seriality; and sculptural geometry. During her short career as an artist during the years 1956 - 1968, Posenenske developed a"radical democratic" concept of art, rejecting the commercial art market and recognizing the artistic authorship as being shared between artist, producer and participating observer. Her work, “Holzdrehflügel” - The Wooden Rotary Vane - creates a space which can be handled, reconfigured and rearranged by everyone. 

Following to her artistic career, Posenenske studied sociology with focus on labour science and factory work.

* Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske

Tobias
Rehberger

Adipöse Enkelin (2004)

 

A tree-house? Strictly speaking – no. Actually, the work is a life-size model of a tree-house which gives the impression of being a lamp when illuminated from the interior. The underlying questions are: what actually is a sculpture? Which aspects have to be incorporated? Where does a transition to architecture take place? The observer is free to decide the area to which he/she assigns Rehberger's models. The sculpture represents the artist‘s frame of reference, or more precisely, the question as to what a sculpture is and why it is a sculpture? Since 2001, Rehberger has been teaching Sculpturing at the Städelschule and works as an artist in Frankfurt and Berlin. 

* Adipöse Enkelin, Braunschweig Parcours, 2004 © Tobias Rehberger, Foto: Thomas Müller, courtesy Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt

Atelier
van Lieshout

Mobile Home for Köller-Müller (1995)

 

At first glance, the “Mobile Home" is reminiscent of a modular caravan. The special feature, however, is that there is no overall design. This means that the so-called “Slave Units" can be attached to the different openings of the main part (“Master Unit") as needed. Each unit fulfils a function such as sleeping, sanitary, kitchen or office. 

Since 1995, the work has been located in the sculpture park of the Köller-Müller Museum in the Netherlands and therefore refers to being a hybrid between art and architecture, not only through its contradictory appearance.

The works of the Atelier Van Lieshout (Joep van Lieshout) often revolve around primitive or imaginative habitations. Most of them - whether architecture, fine arts or design - are produced in several copies in order to make them as accessible as possible. He even publishes step-by-step instructions for do-it-yourselfers who want to build their own works of art and furniture.

* Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout

artists
56
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-56,bridge-core-2.1.2,translatepress-de_DE,ajax_updown_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-19.9,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.1,vc_responsive

Beispiele entdecken

 

Künstler*innen greifen das Spannungsfeld zwischen „Simplify“- Lebensformen sowie anderen nachhaltigen Leitbildern auf und diskutieren die Frage nach der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung von Kunst und Architektur.

Hier finden Sie unser Curatorial Statement zum Download.

Ekkehard
Altenburger

Mirror house (1996)

 

Die Arbeit “Mirror house” wurde 1996 auf der schottischen Insel Tiree gezeigt. Die Konstruktion aus Stahl und Spiegeln fängt die atemberaubende Landschaft der Insel ein. Betrachtet man die Arbeit verschwimmen die Grenzen zwischen der Umwelt und der architektonischen Skulptur. Altenburgers Intervention in die noch wild erscheinende Natur macht die eigentliche Gegensätzlichkeit zwischen dieser und der gebauten Umgebung deutlich. Bei seiner Arbeit entsteht jedoch ein Gleichgewicht zwischen diesen beiden Polen.

Der Spiegel ist in der Kunst(geschichte) mit hohem symbolischem Gehalt aufgeladen: in zweifacher Sicht thematisiert die Reflexion, kann für Vergänglichkeit stehen, narzisstische Selbstüberhöhung – nur um einige zu nennen – und aufgrund der Position des Mirror house auf der glatten Wasseroberfläche wird ebenso der “ersteSpiegel” mitgedacht.

* Mirror house, Temporary installation on the Isle of Tyree (Scotland), 1996 © Ekkehard Altenburger

Taturo
Amabouz

A Doll’s House (2018)

 

“A Doll’s House” ist nicht nur ein Theaterstück in drei Akten von Henrik Ibsen sondern auch ein riesiges Puppenhaus von Amabouz Taturo (ein Pseudonym des japanischen Künstlers Tatzu Nishi). 2018 konnte man es das erste Mal an der Außenfassade des Palais de Tokyo in Paris begehen. Die realgroßen Räume gehen über drei Stockwerke und sind ausgestattet mit einigen Möbeln sowie einer “Trompe-l’oeil”-Tapete. Als Alice im Wunderland kann man das überdimensionale Puppenhaus entdecken und gerät ins Staunen ob der Größe, der Varianz und der Detailliebe in jedem Stockwerk.

Nishi arbeitet meist im öffentlichen Raum und fordert den/die Betrachter*in mit seinen oft monumentalen, überladenen Objekten dazu auf, bestehende Strukturen zu hinterfragen und einen anderen Blick auf Denkmäler und architektonische Strukturen zu werfen – ganz nach dem Motto “Making the known strange again.”

* Une maison de poupée (A Doll’s House), Paris, 2018 © Taturo Amabouz, Foto: Aurélien Mole

Winfried
Baumann

Rough Sleepers Tower (2016)

 

Mit dem Wohnsystem der “Urban Normads”, zu der auch die Arbeit “Rough Sleepers Tower” zählt, schuf Winfried Baumann ein Konzept mobiler Mini-Heimstätten. Unter diesen Begriff fallen auch künstlerische Auseinandersetzungen die mit den Themen Mobilität, Behausung, Verpflegung und Fortbewegung in Verbindung stehen. 

“Rough Sleeper” setzt einen Bezug zur/m Obdachlosen. Der Begriff bezieht sich auf Menschen, die im Freien schlafen. Seit 2000 beschäftigt sich Baumann mit der Wohnungslosigkeit – und mit dem modularen Prinzip kann hier mehreren Personen ein privater und geschützter Raum geboten werden – auf kleinster Grundfläche. Trotz des funktionalen Charakters bleibt der skulpturale Charakter seines Werks im Vordergrund

* Rough Sleepers Tower, Röttingen, 2016 © Winfried Baumann

Michael
Beutler

Pecafil City (2013)

 

Namensgeber seiner Arbeit “Pecafil City” ist das verwendete leuchtend gelbe und biologisch abbaubare Baumaterial Pecafil. Im Schnitt dauert es zwei Wochen bis Beutler gemeinsam mit Studierenden, Künstler*innen, Handwerker*innen oder Stadtteilbewohner*innen seine Arbeiten aufbaut. Die architektonischen Skulpturen erschließen sich meist nach konzentrierter Betrachtung: das vermeintliche Durcheinander oder Chaos zeigt seine Raumstruktur und die Anordnung der Module und Objekte im Verhältnis zueinander. Wie in einem begehbaren Stillleben kommunizieren die Objekte miteinander.

Die abgebildete Arbeit zeigt eine ganze “Stadt” die sich aus architektonischen Körpern zusammensetzt. Zum einen kann sie den Blick für Beziehungen zwischen architektonischen Modulen schärfen – z. B. in der Großstadt. Zum Anderen fällt beim Durchschreiten seiner Arbeiten das vergängliche Material auf. Seine Skulpturen sind nicht darauf angelegt ewig an einem Ort zu verweilen.

* Pecafil City, Firmengelände FRANK (Leibfing), 2013 © Michael Beutler, courtesy Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt

Florian
Graf

Bio Diversity (Blooming, Flying, Standing) (2018)

 

Der Schweizer Künstler Florian Graf interessiert sich für den Raum und wie unsere Psyche, unser Körper mit diesem in Interaktion treten kann. Die Serie “Biodiversity” besteht aus Skulpturen die sich wiederum aus drei verschiedenen Elementen zusammensetzen. Ein intorvertierter, ein aggressiver und extrovertierter Teil – wie der Künstler selbst sie benennt. Indem diese drei Teile auf unterschiedliche Weise zusammengesetzt werden ergibt sich ein jeweils eigenes Verhältnis zu den Betrachter*innen. Ein angebrachter Spiegel oder ein Fenster verweisen auf ein vermeintliches Inneres der Arbeiten. Graf zufolge sind, „Kunstwerke […] quasi-lebendig, Geschöpfe, denen wir ein Eigenleben zuschreiben. Und die Welt der Natur mit ihren unendlichen, kombinatorischen Möglichkeiten schafft aus den gleichen Bausteinen eine atemberaubende Vielfalt.“

*  Bio Diversity (Blooming, Flying, Standing), Ausstellungsansicht Out & About, 2018 © Florian Graf, Foto: Gina Folly

Terence
Koh

Bee Chapel (2017)

 

In der “Bienenkapelle” von Terence Koh kann sich eine Person aufhalten – gemeinsam mit einem lebendigen Bienenschwarm. Durch ein Netz getrennt können die Bienen in ihrem Treiben von Nahem beobachtet werden. Befindet man sich im Inneren soll das Summen der Bienen und der Duft des Honigs alles sein was man wahrnimmt. Die eintretende Entschleunigung stellt einen Gegenpol zur Außenwelt dar. Er thematisiert mit der “Kappelle” auch das Bienensterben – wie er selbst sagt: “Ich denke, das bereitet uns allen Sorgen. Aber die Bee Chapel ist auch ein Ort, in dem man zur Ruhe kommen kann.” 

Seit der Realisierung dieser Arbeit 2015 wendete sich der international renommierter Künstler von seinem damals künstlerischen Thema – der Farbe weiß – ab und beschäftigt sich intensiv mit alternativen Lebenskonzepten, Gärten und Bienen.

* The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh

Charlotte
Posenenske

Holzdrehflügel Serie E (1968)

 

Im Begriffsnetz von industrieller Fertigung, Serialität und skulpturaler Geometrie lässt sich das Oeuvre von Poseneske verorten. Während ihrer kurzen künstlerischen Karriere von 1956-1968 entwickelte sie ein“radikaldemokratisches” Kunstkonzept: sie lehnte den kommerziellen Kunstmarkt ab und verstand die künstlerische Autorschaft als geteilt zwischen: Künstler*in, Produzent*in und partizipierender/m Betrachter*in. Ihre Arbeit “Holzdrehflügel” formt einen Raum und dieser kann von jedem neu konfiguriert somit angefasst und arrangiert werden. 

Im Anschluss an ihre künstlerische Laufbahn studierte sie Soziologie mit dem Schwerpunkt auf Arbeitswissenschaft und Fabrikarbeit.

* Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske

Tobias
Rehberger

Adipöse Enkelin (2004)

 

Ein Baumhaus? Streng genommen – nein. Eigentlich handelt es sich um ein realgroßes Modell eines Baumhauses das, wenn es von innen beleuchtet wird, zu einer Lampe wird. Hinter all dem steht die Frage, was Skulptur eigentlich ist, welche Aspekte miteinbezogen werden müssen und wo der Übergang in den Bereich der Architektur stattfindet. Dem/der Betrachter*in bleibt es frei zu entscheiden welchem Bereich man Rehbergers Modelle zuordnet – für den Künstler entspricht die “Adipöse Enkelin” in erster Linie einer Skulptur die u.a. fragt “was Skulptur ist und warum Skulptur ist.” 

* Adipöse Enkelin, Braunschweig Parcours, 2004 © Tobias Rehberger, Foto: Thomas Müller, courtesy Bärbel Grässlin, Frankfurt

Atelier
van Lieshout

Mobile Home for Köller-Müller (1995)

 

Auf den ersten Blick erinnert das “Mobile Home” an einen modular zusammengesetzten Wohnwagen. Die Besonderheit ist jedoch, dass es keinen Gesamtentwurf gibt. Das bedeutet, dass die sogenannte “Slave Units” beliebig an die unterschiedlichen Öffnungen des Hauptteils (“Master Unit”) angebracht werden können. Jede der Einheiten erfüllt zudem eine Funktion wie Schlafen, Sanitär-, Küche oder Büro. 

Seit 1995 befindet sich die Arbeit im Skulpturen-Park des Köller-Müller Museums in den Niederlanden und verweist somit nicht nur durch sein widersprüchliches Äußeres darauf ein Hybrid zwischen Kunst und Architektur zu sein.

Die Werke des Ateliers Van Lieshout (Joep van Lieshout) kreisen oft um primitive oder fantasievolle Behausungen. Die meisten – ob Architektur, bildende Kunst oder Design – werden in mehreren Exemplaren hergestellt, um sie so zugänglich wie möglich zu machen. Er veröffentlicht sogar Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitungen für Heimwerker, die ihre eigenen Kunstwerke und Möbel bauen möchten.

* Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout