Installation view of SPECTER at Desert X 2019, Coachella Valley, CA. Photo by Robert Wedemeyer. Courtesy Sterling Ruby Studio.
Installation view of SPECTER at Desert X 2019, Coachella Valley, CA. Photo by Robert Wedemeyer. Courtesy Sterling Ruby Studio.
YRD.Works, Oper Offenbach © Gabriel Poblete
YRD.Works, Oper Offenbach © Gabriel Poblete
Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske
Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske
Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout
Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout

tinyBE is a global platform for artistic visions of sustainable forms of living. As a creative lab tinyBE offers a series of exhibitions of habitable artworks in public spaces and a free space for a discourse on meaningful life:

‘the tinyBE way’.

project

The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh
The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh

tinyBE is an innovative exhibition and event format that facilitates an interdisciplinary dialogue at the interface of visual arts, architecture, design and science. From 26 June to 26 September, 2021, tinyBE will bring together for the first time nine temporary habitable sculptures by international artists in the Frankfurt/Rhine-Main metropolitan area with locations at Metzlerpark in Frankfurt as well as Darmstadt and Wiesbaden.

The exhibits offer visionary, utopian, and sometimes even dystopian ideas on new forms of living and working, while the temporary habitability of the sculptures provides a new way of looking at art and life. Anyone can try out these artistic concepts and stay there at night.
 

context

Michael Francis McCarthy, Capsule Hotel, Tokyo, 2008 ©https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en
Michael Francis McCarthy, Capsule Hotel, Tokyo, 2008 ©https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en

The transformation of how we live and work in an environment governed by globalisation, digitalisation and climate change is one of the most pertinent topics of our times. Trends such as tiny living and eco-friendly buildings testify to new social needs and a desire for innovative living concepts.

tinyBE poses some of the most compelling questions of our time: What type of places do we need to live and work? How do we want to live together as a society and what is possible? What do we need for a fulfilling and sustainable life?

program

Metzlerpark, 2019 © Martin Rendel
Metzlerpark, 2019 © Martin Rendel

The tinyMONDAYS, an event series of accompanying the exhibition create an intellectual space for a cross-generational dialogue on meaningful living and visions for the future and promotes interdisciplinary discussions related to the sustainability of alternative living forms and spaces. The events provide a forum for leading speakers from the fields of culture, science and business. 

With the tinyMONDAYS, tinyBE has set itself the goal of creating an interactive and inspiring discussion space about possible living models or ways of living in the future on the basis of the artistic concepts.

Installation view of SPECTER at Desert X 2019, Coachella Valley, CA. Photo by Robert Wedemeyer. Courtesy Sterling Ruby Studio.
Installation view of SPECTER at Desert X 2019, Coachella Valley, CA. Photo by Robert Wedemeyer. Courtesy Sterling Ruby Studio.
YRD.Works, Oper Offenbach © Gabriel Poblete
YRD.Works, Oper Offenbach © Gabriel Poblete
Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske
Holzdrehflügel Serie E, Frankfurt am Main, 1968 © Estate of Charlotte Posenenske
Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout
Mobile Home for Kröller-Müller, Kröller-Müller Museum, 1995 © Atelier van Lieshout

tinyBE ist eine globale Plattform für künstlerische Visionen zur nachhaltigen Gestaltung des Lebens. Als Creative Lab etabliert tinyBE eine Reihe von Ausstellungen bewohnbarer Skulpturen im öffentlichen Raum und einen Freiraum zum Diskurs über sinnstiftendes Leben:

‘the tinyBE way’

Projekt

The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh
The Bee Chapel, Moran Bondaroff (Los Angeles), 2017 © Terence Koh

tinyBE ist ein innovatives Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsformat, das einen interdisziplinären Dialog an der Schnittstelle von Bildender Kunst, Architektur, Design und Wissenschaft ermöglicht. Vom 26. Juni – 26. September 2021 vereint tinyBE erstmals neun temporär bewohnbare Skulpturen von internationalen Künstler:innen in der Metropolregion Frankfurt/Rhein-Main mit Standorten im Metzlerpark in Frankfurt, Darmstadt und Wiesbaden. 

Dort werden visionäre, utopische oder auch dystopische Ideen zu neuen Formen des Wohnens und Arbeitens vorgestellt. Die temporäre Bewohnbarkeit der Skulpturen eröffnet dabei eine neue Form der Kunst- und Lebensbetrachtung. Jede:r kann sich darin aufhalten und die künstlerischen Konzepte auch nachts ausprobieren.

Kontext

Michael Francis McCarthy, Capsule Hotel, Tokyo, 2008 ©https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en
Michael Francis McCarthy, Capsule Hotel, Tokyo, 2008 ©https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en

Der Wandel von Lebens- und Arbeitsformen in einer von Globalisierung, Digitalisierung und Klimawandel bestimmten Gegenwart ist eines der zentralsten Themen unserer Zeit. Tendenzen wie Tiny Living und ökologisches Bauen zeugen von neuen Bedürfnissen in unserer Gesellschaft und dem Wunsch nach innovativen Wohn- und Lebenskonzepten.

tinyBE stellt die wichtigsten Fragen der Gegenwart: Welche Orte brauchen wir zum Leben und Arbeiten? Wie wollen und können wir als Gesellschaft zusammenleben? Was brauchen wir für ein erfülltes und nachhaltiges Leben?

Programm

Metzlerpark, 2019 © Martin Rendel
Metzlerpark, 2019 © Martin Rendel

Die ausstellungsbegleitende Veranstaltungsreihe tinyMONDAYS schafft einen geistigen Freiraum für einen generationsübergreifenden Dialog über sinnstiftendes Leben und Zukunftsvisionen und fördert einen interdisziplinären Austausch zu Themen der Nachhaltigkeit alternativer Wohn- und Lebensräume. Dabei verknüpft sie Key Speaker aus den Bereichen Kultur, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft.

tinyBE hat sich mit den tinyMONDAYS zum Ziel gesetzt, auf der Basis der künstlerischen Konzepte einen interaktiven und inspirierenden Diskussionsraum über mögliche Wohnmodelle oder auch Lebensformen der Zukunft zu schaffen.